Enter your library card barcode number to begin.
The Pennsylvania Online World of Electronic Resources is provided by the State of Pennsylvania through Commonwealth Libraries to public library card holders. A resource for all ages, POWER Library provides more than 2,000 full text magazines, journals, and newspapers. There are specialized databases for art and music, medical resources, historic photographs, and general reference. It also includes an encyclopedia, maps, almanacs, the Associated Press photo archive, and other references.
Note: To use some of these services, you must have cookies enabled. If you receive an error, please verify that your browser is set to accept cookies.
Funding and Support Attribution
ACCESS PENNSYLVANIA’S POWER Library services are funded primarily by:
- The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania’s “Library Access” budget line item; and
- Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services.
These funds are administered by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries, Department of Education, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Wolf, Governor.
Notice of these funding sources must be provided on all printed or electronic presentations of POWER Library resources as listed below.
This project is made possible in part by Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services and through Library Access Funds administered by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries, Department of Education, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Wolf, Governor.
The Office of Commonwealth Libraries reserves the right to change or terminate the ACCESS PENNSYLVANIA POWER Library program based on the availability of funding, program needs, or the availability of vendors that can provide qualified services.
A POWER Library webpage dedicated to serving kids. Kid-centered online resources in a single, kid-friendly interface. Includes Kids Search, EBSCO ebooks, BookFLIX, Middle Search, Primary Search, Searchasaurus, SIRS Discoverer, Chat with a Librarian, and more.
ASK HERE PA
Don’t search…Find. Connect online with a real librarian — one-to-one in real-time — for help with any topic or information need. Available 24 hours a day / 7 days a week!
ANCESTRY LIBRARY EDITION
This resource can only be accessed within the library.
Ancestry Library Edition is provided through a generous donation by The Friends of Penn Area Library.
Ancestry® Library Edition is one of the largest collections of family history data in the world. It delivers billions of records inside more than 7,000 available databases. Here, you can unlock the story of you with sources like censuses, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, maps, and more.